Taking My Health Back

This is going to be a doozy so get comfy.

Sigh….I’m tired, overweight, cranky, depressed and so on and so on. Since my second child Emmy turned 2 months old I have felt….off. I first just tossed it up to postpartum hormones and getting use to have a new baby and a 2.5 year old. No. No. No. It isn’t. Once Emmy got to be about 5 months old I started to realize that this isn’t just postpartum. Something is wrong with me – I know it. I started to lose my hair. Like, REALLY lose my hair. It started very early, too. Around 2 months postpartum. It started the same time I started to develop a rash around my nose. Fast forward to 6 months postpartum and I am STILL losing my hair in droves and the rash on my face is slowly spreading. I am only 26 – I should not be balding yet…

I went to my primary care physician back in early November with my concerns. She looked at my face for about 10 seconds and determined it was Impetigo and prescribed an ointment and took some blood. She said my Thyroid Simulating Hormone (TSH) was pretty low but my T3 and T4 were “fine” and she tested for autoimmune antibodies – came back negative and my testosterone was within normal range for a woman my age so male/female pattern balding wasn’t the case. She told me it was “probably” postpartum related but referred me to an endocrinologist. Endo said there was nothing wrong with me and my hair loss was unrelated. This was after ZERO blood work or anything. Just on a whim decided he could look at me and tell me it is “nothing” or “normal”. At this point I have lost ALL faith in medicine and doctors.

I am now seeing a dermatologist who saw lots of inflammation on my scalp and we are trying a medicine to control the inflammation to see if my hair starts to grow back with it being controlled.

Now, remember that ointment that the PCP prescribed? Yea..no. It didn’t work. She prescribed a steroid cream that cleared it up in no time. Yay right? No. As soon as I stopped it the rash came back – with a vengeance. So, I started to do a little research and came to the conclusion that I probably have Perioral Dermatitis. Which explains why it came back after I stopped the steroid cream. FIVE prescriptions later I am now on a non steroid cream that will hopefully help. I started it last night so we will see.

I have said ALLLLLL that to end with this. While these doctors tell me nothing is wrong – I know something is. I started to think that if the doctors don’t care I will take my health back myself and  if I can change the way I eat I can start to heal myself from the inside out. Today started day 1 of a “diet” (I use that word loosely because it isn’t really a diet but more of a lifestyle change..) called the Autoimmune Protocol (AIP). In a nutshell it is No gluten, no egg, no grains, no legumes, no dairy, no sugar, no nightshades and no alcohol. When eating meats — try to keep it to small portions of grass fed/organic meat. Sounds limiting right? It is a little intimidating but I am going for it because I need a change in my health. In the perfect world this will help me feel better overall as well as clear up my face and encourage my hair to come back…fingers crossed!

Here is my breakfast this morning! Very yummy and VERY filling! Cheers to good health!

IMG_3394-1

Sweet potato and bacon hash with a half of an avocado.

I roasted my sweet potatoes in a little coconut oil and cinnamon the day before (350 degree oven for about 45 mins). I then took two pieces of center cut bacon chopped it up and cooked it on the stove. Warmed my sweet potatoes back up in the pan with 1/2 of the yummy bacon fat and thats it! Mixed it together and added a smidge (totally a technical term LOL) of all natural sea salt. Voila!

If you made it this far – thank you. ❤

Ashley

For more info on AIP.

 

 

Leave a Reply

